These Oats Are NOT Gluten Free

Hi, Andrew Cordova here for GFMagazine. Today I’m going to talk about oats and the current gluten-free status. I’ll also be sharing some gluten test results which I performed with a glutentox home test kit.

[leadplayer_vid id="528403B0B9A42"]


So the reason that I’m talking about oats today is because I was recently in an email conversation with one of my subscribers and she asked if I could test the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Oats for gluten. When I asked her why, she said it was because she recently found out that Quaker Oats had gluten in them and that’s what she usually eats for breakfast. And she was still feeling sick after eating the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Oats.

I have personally tested Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Oats before for gluten and I sent her over a video of the test and told her. Most likely, what could be going on is that you have an issue with oats. Some people that need to be gluten-free also have issues with oats. It’s nothing to do with the actual oat, it’s just that some people don’t tolerate oats. If that’s you, I would say stop eating the oats.

NO Quaker Oats Are NOT Gluten FreeAnd to touch on the Quaker Oats subject, tons of people that are brand new to being gluten-free may not think that Quaker Oats are not gluten-free. If you look at the label, it doesn’t say wheat, it doesn’t say barley, it doesn’t say rye, it doesn’t say gluten, it doesn’t say anything about cross-contamination. Unfortunately, oats are one of the most likely to be cross-contaminated grains in the grain family.

Don’t get me wrong. If you had an oats stock in your backyard, those oats would be gluten-free. Unfortunately, nowadays, oats are not grown in people’s backyards. They’re grown by huge corporations.

And right on the Quaker website, if you head on over there and go to the FAQ section, they talk about the gluten in their oats. They talk about the two reasons why none of their products are gluten-free unless specifically labeled gluten-free.

Quaker Oats Gluten Statement

The first reason why is their supplier also grows wheat, barley, rye and other gluten-containing grains on the same fields that they grow the oats. So how convenient is that? I’m pretty sure they’re doing that to save money.

The second reason why that they give was because the supplier that transports the oats and manufactures them or processes them also processes and transports other gluten-containing grains, so for the chance for cross-contamination is very high. They even go on to say that they can’t promise that there’s not going to be particles of the gluten thing grains in your oatmeal or in your oats. So nothing from Quaker Oats is gluten-free unless specifically labeled gluten-free.

Even some of their rice cakes are not gluten-free. So make sure you’re not picking up rice cake that is not specifically labeled gluten-free.

Actually right after this video, I will show you a test of me testing Quaker Oats at 20 parts per million twice. What I did was I picked up a package of Quaker Oats, tested it twice from two different samples, two different tests. They both tested positive for gluten at 20 parts per million.

So Quaker Oats are never safe. Don’t try to save a dime and purchase Quaker Oats instead of gluten-free oats or something like that. It’s not very smart.

If there’s any products or ingredients or anything that you’d like for me to test that might contain gluten or you’re just suspicious of or you would like to know, I would like to know what you would like to know. Let me know in the comments section and I just might test it using one of my glutentox home test kits.

What you see in front of you is me doing or performing two different gluten tests. I’m testing two different samples from the same package of Quaker Oats old-fashion oats. I’m performing this test for anyone that’s wondering are oats gluten-free, specifically Quaker Oats. The short answer is no, they are not gluten-free. Unless they are certified gluten-free, they will not be gluten-free.

I wanted to perform this test and show it to you to prove that oats are in fact not gluten-free if they’re not certified. I think this is pretty important because I’ve read across the Internet a bunch of times people asking, “Oh, are Quaker Oats gluten-free? It doesn’t say gluten-free, but there’s no other warnings on the label.” So I wanted to perform this test to show people that it is indeed not gluten-free and it’s not safe.

So here we go. Here’s the video right now. The picture on your right-hand corner, that’s a picture of a blue line and a pink line signifying a positive test result for gluten at 20 parts per million, so it’s not gluten-free.

What the heck! I wanted to just make this really clear and tested a second time. The lighting is not that good on this one. I recorded this at night, and I forgot to change the light settings. But it’s so clear and obvious that the oats are going to be not gluten-free. If you just wait a few seconds you’ll see the test to prove that again the blue and the pink line together showed that it’s a positive result, so it’s not gluten-free.

So if you ever meet anyone and they say, “Oh, no. Oats are gluten-free,” tell them, “No, I saw this video online, Andrew Cordova from tested Quaker Oats and they were not gluten-free.”

Recommended gluten free oat companies:

Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Oats

GF Harvest Gluten Free Oats

Cream Hill Estates Gluten Free Oats 

Glutenfreeda Gluten Free Oats

Avena Food Gluten Free Oats

  • Alice Watchke

    Just found out Folger’s Decaf coffee is not GF. Is there a GF decaf coffee?

    • Emegf

      Could you tell us where you heard this? Coffee is one of those cross reactive foods for some Celiacs.

      • Alice Watchke

        I googled ‘gluten free decaf coffee’ and clicked on an article about a university study.

  • Diane Buege Buendia

    In talking to people there seems to be a lot of confusion about oats & gluten. I only eat Bobs Red Mill gluten free oats & I have never had an issue with them.

    • Emegf

      You’re lucky Diane. I can’t eat even the gluten free ones without reacting. We’re all different and we each react differently to the same thing.

    • GavinAyling

      Also Chex Oats and Main Street!

  • Terri Davila

    This is so true, my son reacts to all oats. He can not tolerate it at all. Quinoa flakes are a good substitute. I enjoy your site & there is always lots of great info!

    • Andrew Cordova

      Thank you :)

    • GavinAyling

      There is a gluten-like protein in oats, so some celiacs are not tolerant due to that.

  • Belinda Brown

    Andrew, I was wondering if you have done any testing on Quaker grits? They claim to be gluten free, but I seem to have problems after eating them. I think cross-contamination would be an issue as well.

    • Andrew Cordova

      I have not tested Quaker grits but they say on their site that they are not gluten free. “Although wheat, rye and barley are not part of the ingredients innQuaker Steel Cut, Quaker Old Fashioned, Quaker Quick Oats, Corn Bran Crunch, Grits and Cornmeal there is the possibility that they could contain trace amounts of these grains. For these reasons, we’ve never claimed these products are gluten free.” –

      • Cam Winkiewicz

        Is there such thing as gluten free grits?

        • GavinAyling

          Definitely seen them in BiLo and Piggly Wigglies.

  • Carolyn Stone

    Hey Andrew,
    I’ve been gluten free for over a year now and I love sushi. I was wondering if you could see which soy sauce’s are gluten free.

    • Bri Moe

      The ones that say ‘gluten free soy sauce’

      • Janie Allen

        Tamari soy sauce

    • Betsy

      I would like a clear answer on whether the soy sauces that say wheat is an ingredient. Soy sauce ingredients are fermented. Does gluten continue after fermentation, there is some discussion that bread made from fermented wheat does not contain gluten. I would like to find a definitive source for an answer (not intution). I am sure industry is all to happy to sell an expensive gluten free labelled product even when it is not necessary .

  • it_must_be_dunning-kuger . . .

    The statement ‘oats are gluten free’ is TRUE.
    It’s a commercial product made with oats that, although no gluten is in the recipe, cannot be considered as gluten-free unless certified as such due to cross-contamination at some point after harvest.
    For people with allergies that can result in anaphylaxis all bulk foods are off limits, only sealed products would be safe.

  • GavinAyling

    And now Quaker are doing gluten free oats. I’m not claiming corporate espionage, I have less than no evidence, but the timing of the process improvement is startling similar to General Mills’. Maybe the Big G’s success made Quaker try. Still, gluten free oat products should be normal in the not too distant future.

  • Mic

    The pink elephant in the room , to me , is …… Quaker Oats are sprayed with glyphosate ‘after the growing season . Which means one ingests a full dose(andthensome) of pure poison . If one has gluten sensitivities , leaky gut , autoimunities , I would think glyphosate would also cause mayhem . Pure speculation .
    Final Note : GLYPHOSATE Is Bad For Every One And All Environmental Factors !!